Oaths Taken by Soldiers and Presidents

24 September 2016

U.S. Army Oath of Enlistment:

“I, _____, do solemnly swear (or affirm) that I will support and defend the Constitution of the United States against all enemies, foreign and domestic; that I will bear true faith and allegiance to the same; and that I will obey the orders of the President of the United States and the orders of the officers appointed over me, according to regulations and the Uniform Code of Military Justice. So help me God.” (Title 10, US Code; Act of 5 May 1960 replacing the wording first adopted in 1789, with amendment effective 5 October 1962).

The Presidential Oath of Office:

“I do solemnly swear (or affirm) that I will faithfully execute the Office of President of the United States, and will to the best of my Ability, preserve, protect and defend the Constitution of the United States.”

The Oath for members of Congress:

“I do solemnly swear (or affirm) that I will support and defend the Constitution of the United States against all enemies, foreign and domestic; that I will bear true faith and allegiance to the same; that I take this obligation freely, without any mental reservation or purpose of evasion; and that I will well and faithfully discharge the duties of the office on which I am about to enter. So help me God.”

Note the similarities, and the fact that by taking the oath a person is professing their allegiance to protecting our country and to preserving the founding ideals this country was built on; that would be the Constitution, against all enemies. When a person takes this oath they are entering into a contract, very much like any legally binding contract, but at the same time unlike any other. The protection of freedom, peace, security, the constitutional rights of the PEOPLE, and “the blessings of liberty” to borrow the phrase, fall upon those who take it. It is not to be taken lightly.

One has often heard a soldier justifying his actions based on the oath, “I was doing my duty as I swore to do when I took the oath,” be it for better or for worse. Soldiers understand the oath, what it means to dedicate one’s life, to be faithful to an ideal that is without equal; they are a noble breed of men and women.

When will presidents, our representatives, and the rest of our politicians who take the oath start being faithful to it, and to us?

Leave a Reply

