Morrissey

17 June 2014

Morrissey. The mention of his name draws a faint smile across my face. Of course you wouldn’t see it if you looked at me; there is only a brooding, contemptuous sneer visible. It’s a silent, introverted smile.

There was a time when I was certain that Morrissey and the Smiths wrote every single song about me. I’ve gotten over that now. There were only just a few that were actually written about me.

“How Soon is Now?”- I’m sure I listened to it more times than any other human being on earth. Hundreds and hundreds, thousands of times. No, really. I played it over and over and over again. But then, who didn’t?

Morrissey played in Denver recently. I came closer to actually thinking about possibly going to see him than I have for any other musician in recent memory. But I didn’t. I’m married now, and I am sure my wife would have wanted to go. Well, that can’t happen. You don’t see Morrissey with another person….you go alone.

I’m hearing a lot more of Morrissey and the Smiths these days (I have SeriusXM in my truck.) I’m quite happy reminiscing, being able to laugh a little about some of the Smiths’ and Morrissey’s lyrics. And I’m very happy hearing Morrissey’s voice again. His style is unique, his voice is one-of-a-kind, and it still captivates me just like it did in 1983. Sometimes I find myself just listening to his voice, not even hearing the lyrics. There aren’t a lot of musicians who cause that to happen…should I reveal myself here? How about Iris Dement, Freddie Mercury, or Maria Callas?

Next time I have the chance I think I’ll actually go. Maybe even with someone.

 

Leave a Reply

